What is up with Vista?

Firstly I have to admit that I have been a little naughty and have been running Windows Vista RC1 for the past nine months or so. It had some minor issues but was otherwise stable, so I didn’t bother updating it when RC2 come out. This morning when I turned on the computer, it nicely reminded me that the evaluation licence for RC1 was going to expire in five days. Well I decided that it was about time I inconvenienced my wife and installed the full licenced version of Vista Business. Well it has been more than three hours and all I have seen so far is the dreaded blue screen of death with “MACHINE_CHECK_ERROR” on it. This is a little surprising considering the upgrade adviser said all would be fine and that I have been running RC1 for nine months. I even tried a clean install of XP SP2 then upgrade over that – still no luck. I am now reverting back to Windows XP SP2 and might have to see if I can convince the household purchasing committee (my wife) for a hardware purchase.

Leave a Reply

