Family.Show version 2.0 released

I have been tracing my family tree for nearly ten years and have managed to track back to a William Cornwall born 1771, who lived in Dorking, Surrey, England – he was a carpenter.  It is great finding out where your ancestors come from, when they immigrated to Australia – 1841, 1842, 1844 and 1954 (and yes as free settlers and not convicts – although that would have been pretty cool) and where the name Cornwill is derived.

Up until now I have been using a very old version of Family Tree Maker that I got on a magazine Cover-CD some 2 or so years ago. I recently downloaded a Silverlight demonstration program called Family.Show which I think is a pretty cool example of how powerful Silverlight is. The initial version was a little rough and lacked some serious features but Vertigo have now released version 2.0 which has some great enhancements. I am now switching my entire genealogy tree (some 1400 people) over to the new Family.Show v2.0.

Family.Show version 2 by Vertigo

Vertigo have also posted a brief list of WPF and Expression Blend tips based on what they have learnt while building this product.

3 Responses to Family.Show version 2.0 released

  1. […] family history After posting an article about my family history research and the new version of Family.Show, I was contacted by Graeme Agius from Data#3 in Brisbane.  […]

  2. jdm says:

    Just a correction here. Family.Show is NOT Silverlight. It’s all WPF as far as I can see.

  3. marie joy cornwill says:

    my name is marie cornwill, my fathers name was reginald cornwill, we lived in west heidelberg, moved to castlemaine in 1976, i now live in campbells creek, i have been trying for years to catch up with some of my uncles & my cousins in qld. i would love to catch up with someone, especially uncle bill,the last time i saw my cousins in qld was when i was 12, i am now 48, also i would love to catch up with russell, graham, pete, david & danielle love marie

Leave a Reply

